Facebook rolled out its Graphic Search feature on July 08, 2013. At its launch, an all-pervading fear factor started looming large over 1.11 billion Facebook users (user number estimated as of March, 2013). By rolling out this search tool, Facebook intended to allow its users explore its huge amount of data and get consolidated results. Fear and controversy jump-started from these points, namely data consolidation and bringing them out to searchers against their search queries!

Facebook users have all reasons to apprehend whether their private messages are going to be disclosed to the world, as they’ve prior experiences about unprecedented disclosure of their personal details by Facebook. Facebook, however, later asked for pardon and blamed it to the bugging factors. Many of their users were not ready to take it. Still, they continue sticking to Facebook as their preferred social media destination.

This social media phenomenon, which was developed in 2004 by Mark Zukerberg along with his roommates Dustin Moskovitz, Chris Hughes, and Eduardo Saverin, came under fire time and again for failing to balance the privacy concerns of Facebook users with Facebook’s business obligations to share personal data with other websites for social media advertising purposes. The CEO is learnt to have said that all pieces of contents have their own audience. Most of them are not public too. So, searchers will get only those search results which have been publicly shared.

Despite this assurance, users need to take some time to look into their Facebook privacy settings. They need to make sure things they share don’t inadvertently show up in search results. When decided to do it, the first thing you should tweak is check who can see information about you. You can view it in your profile. Start it in the following ways.

* Go to your timeline.
* Click on your ‘About’ profile button.
* Click on the Edit button (find it next to every different section).
* Select the type of audience you want to display the information.
* Scroll down the page to view various types of things you would like.
* Click on the pencil next and select ‘Edit Privacy’ to change the audience. (It will check search results display via Graphic Search and determine whom you want to show it or whom you don’t).
* Go to ‘Activity Log’ to leverage display information on your Timeline.
* Select ‘Use Activity Log’ in your privacy and settings page.
* Discover the post and click on the two-headed icon.
* Limit visibility option is out here. Doing so, you can limit your post from getting tagged, commented, and photo-tagged, etc.
* Removal option of yourself from tagged posts and photos is out there in the Activity Log. To ensure it, Click on the two-headed icon and then, Click on the Remove/Report Tag.
* To ensure complete removal of your post from Facebook, Select the appropriate option in the ‘Is this post about you or a friend?’ window and continue.
* To ensure removal of a photo or a tag, check out the ‘What would you like to happen?’ box and choose the appropriate option and continue.
* Go to Privacy Settings and Tools page again to ensure limit visibility of past posts has been successfully done. Find “Who can see my stuff option” and then “Who can see my future posts” option in the drop-down of the former option.
* Go much deeper inside the Settings menu to limit your past posts. Click on the button to change the audience for all your old posts.
* Audit your Facebook page to see what other users see when they look at yours. Click on the lock icon next to the right-hand side of your photo and name on the extreme left corner of the page.

After doing all these, check out how the Graph Search looks and works.